Cowash Night 7/29/2015 and the Greenhouse Effect

Hey guys! Normally my cowash day is Thursday but last night after work I just felt the need to do it then. I suffer from extremely itchy, dry scalp all the time so it was driving me insane. Cowashing and shampooing makes it a little better. So…

I got home from work last night around 10. I didn’t want to prolong the process so I just got right to my cowash routine. Now my favorite conditioner to cowash with is the Organix Hydrating Macadamia Oil Moisturizing conditioner. This stuff leaves my hair supper soft and hydrated. However, I decided to switch it up a bit and try my V05 Moisture Milks conditioner. I know everyone raves about this stuff but when I tried it on my relaxed hair I wasn’t impressed. Now that I’m natural I said I would give it a try since I have 2 bottles at the house.

I hopped in the shower and wet my hair. I then just used the conditioner as if I was shampooing my hair. I was really heavy handed but my hair needs it. I let the conditioner sit in my hair until I finished my shower. Before rinsing out the conditioner I applied even more. When I rinsed it out my hair felt soft…but not as soft as my Organix leaves it.

Youtube and blogs have been my best friend since going natural. Yesterday I was watching a video and the girl was talking about using the greenhouse effect for moisture and hair growth. The point is to moisturize and seal your hair at night and then put on a plastic cap, followed by a satin wrap or whatever you use. As you sleep at night, you will create heat and steam that will leave your hair moisturized when you wake up the next morning. So…

a

I got out the shower and t-shirt dried my hair a bit to get rid of the excess water. I sprayed on my favorite leave in conditioner by Creme of Nature. I then used Motions daily scalp and blah blah blah moisturizing cream. I had purchased this cream months ago but never really used it much. I’m not sure if it was because my hair was wet, but I did not like how it felt in my hair. It was as if my hair really wasn’t soaking it up. Maybe I will try again on dry hair, but I’m not sure if I will keep this product. I finally sealed with some black castor oil I had left. After that I put on a plastic cap, my satin scarf, and 2 of my gangsta 2 Pac scarves lol. Here are the products I used:

aa aaaa

I woke up this morning and took off all of my scarves and plastic cap. When I looked inside the plastic cap I saw a lot of water droplets, which lets me know that the greenhouse effect took place. My hair was definitely moisturized because it was still wet! Hahahaha.That beats it feeling dry like it normally does. I sprayed a little more of my leave in conditioner and then I applied some of my homemade whipped body butter I had made for my skin. It has shea butter, coconut oil, grapeseed oil, and a few drops of lemon essential oil. It does wonders for my skin and it actually works great in my hair. I think tonight I will use my shea butter for my cream instead of the Motions. After watching other videos it does say that you must use 100% natural oils and butters for the greenhouse effect.

All in all I am pleased with the results of the greenhouse effect. My hair was really soft this morning. Here is what it looked like when I was all done:

aaa