My homemade Whipped Shea Butter Recipe

Lately I have become a naturalist lol. I make my own body scrubs, body butters, and now hair moisturizers. I just find that the stuff I make works so much better than what I buy in the store, and less expensive. I whipped me up a thick body butter last week for my dry skin and it works wonders! I even started using it in my hair. I decided to make a second batch that’s strictly for my hair. Here is what I did:

My 2 ingredients that I used for my base were shea butter and coconut oil. I normally use the white shea butter but my local beauty supply store only had the yellow. I added about 5 oz and 1.5 tablespoons of coconut oil to a double boiler to melt down. I like thicker butters so I always add more shea butter than coconut oil. Once that melted down I poured it into a bowl and let it refrigerate all night.

aaĀ a1

This morning I took the bowl out and let it sit for a bit so I could whip it. I used my hand mixer and started the whipping process and scrapping the sides of the bowl every few minutes. I whipped for about 5 mins before I added some of my Nana’s All Natural Black Castor Oil. This made the shea butter more smooth. Lastly, I added a few drops of lemon essential oil to take away some of the natural shea butter smell.

aaa

I like the Nana’s Castor Oil spray because it has other oils mixed in that my hair loves. I went to an event last year and they had their products on display. I purchased the spray, tea tree scalp treatment, and shea butter cream. After all of that whipping this was the finished product:

a

The consistency is thick, just the way I like it. I usually take a little in my hand and rub them together to melt it down some. This makes it smooth over my hair. I will ditch my Motions daily moisturizer and use this for a while.

6 thoughts on “My homemade Whipped Shea Butter Recipe

  1. I thought about doing this but for right now. I’m satisfied with my Elasta QP Olive Oil & Mango Butter Moisturizer. I have another container I want to use up before I make my own Shea, Coconut, and essential oil mix.

    Like

Leave a comment